Entries open for prestigious health and safety awards

Young woman working in a workshop

27 May 2024

Health and safety initiatives supporting young workers and women in the workplace may be eligible for up to $25,000 in funding through SafeWork SA’s prestigious 2024 Augusta Zadow Awards, which open this week.

The annual awards were established in recognition of Augusta Zadow, who in 1895 became South Australia’s first female inspector of factories. She played a crucial role in securing better conditions for employees, particularly women and young people.

South Australian businesses and individuals are invited to apply outlining their idea for a research, educational program or solution that improves the health and safety of women or young people working in South Australia.

Since the awards began in 2005, SafeWork SA has awarded 38 grants to fund safety initiatives valued at more than $390,000.

The 2023 winners were:

  • Dr Andrew Day & Dr Katherine McLachlan, The Magnolia Project. This project developed a set of resources to support early-career professionals in the criminal justice system.
  • Belle Baker, Adelaide Hills & Fleurieu Farm Services. The Tractoring for Women project aimed to empower women in agriculture with practical training in tractor operation and on-farm safety.
  • Dr Annabelle Neall, Prof Melanie Takarangi, Assoc Prof Lydia Woodyatt, Flinders University. Enhancing Women’s Psychological Safety and Wellbeing via Best Practice Framework for Workplace Sexual Harassment Reporting Processes evaluated the current approach and provided a best practice framework for workplace reporting of sexual harassment based on psychological needs.

Applications for the 2024 awards open on Monday, 20 May 2024, and close on Wednesday, 31 July 2024.

Successful applicants will be announced as part of National Safe Work Month in October.

For further details and to apply, visit safework.sa.gov.au/about-us/augusta-zadow-awards

Attribute to SafeWork SA Executive Director Glenn Farrell:

The Augusta Zadow Awards honour the legacy of one of the state’s great workplace safety pioneer’s by improving health and safety for women and young workers.

These awards are part of SafeWork SA’s ongoing commitment to supporting workplace safety through practical initiatives and evidence-based research.

We encourage people to think about doing safety differently in order to benefit the wider community.